• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Mind over Medicine

Ruth Sheets

CCO Moderator
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
Have I got a book to recommend for anyone who wants to stay healthy or become healthy, which I hope includes all of you!

One of the hazards of working as a medical coder, and this is just my opinion, is that you are thinking about disease much of your time, when down deep I think people should be thinking about wellness! So how do you protect yourself and fill yourself with "wellness" energy?

I used to be a holistic health coach, and I still "work" at that for friends and family. One of the things I learned while training for that career was to purposely draw a mental-wall-of-protection to avoid taking on the illnesses of your clients, while meanwhile, setting the intention to help the client. Even med students have this problem of thinking they have the very diseases they are studying. There is no code for it (I checked!) but it is referred to as "medstudentitis". My point is that those working in the healthcare field need to protect themselves from too much thinking about disease.

There is hope! It turns out that mind is instrumental in being well. Doctors are crucial for repairing traumatic injuries such as a broken bone, hemorrhaging, and the like, that is for sure. However, the mind of the patient plays a crucial role in healing in injuries and diseases.

Do yourself a favor, and check out "Mind Over Medicine: Scientific Proof That You Can Heal Yourself" by Lissa Rankin, M.D. It is a New York Times Bestseller, an enlightening read, and full of self-care tips. Give yourself new perspectives in how you can reach your best health.

There is also a website: mindovermedicinebook.com

Be well!